Multiple Intelligences – (Vu Thi Thao k33 Spa)

Hello everyone! My name is Vu Thi

I am joining the PELT course in this semester. I discover many interesting and helpful things about this course. Today, I want to share something that I learned recently: “Multiple Intelligences” (MS).

Howard Gardner initially formulated a list of seven intelligences. The first two have been typically valued in schools; the next three are usually associated with the arts; and the final two are what Howard Gardner called ‘personal intelligences’ (Gardner 1999: 41-43). There are seven kinds of intelligences which have been identified by Gardner: Linguistic, Logical-mathematical, Musical, Bodily-kinesthetic, Spatial/ Visual, Interpersonal, and Intrapersonal intelligence.

Normally, each of us has some types of these intelligences. In addition, there are the differences in form among individuals, and student can acquire knowledge effectively by many diverse ways. Therefore, it is important that teacher need to indentify the patterns of intelligences in their student. Teacher should take advantage the strengths to help student get knowledge better.

Firstly, teacher can observe children in an English class and classify their student’s strong points through a MIs test. This step is essential for teacher in finding an optimal method of teaching. If the majority of student in class have the capacity for visuality and music, teacher use songs and pictures as the useful tool to introduce new knowledge. Teaching vocabulary by pictures and sounds is a sensible suggestion.

Secondly, although student may be good at some factors, teacher shouldn’t tend to encourage only student’s strength without care other things. The intelligence of children is not a constant which can be changed by training. Thus, teacher shouldn’t miss a chance to help children gain the full development. Changes in learning methods will give student time to discover and improve their ability what they didn’t realize. For example, when teacher want to introduce a text in new lesson, they can show a video which contains information of the text. They ask student to see this video and then do some tasks. These tasks often relate to the use of other elements to do like mathematical ability, visual intelligence.

Lastly, to sum up, I think that there is no method for perfection. The suitable way to teaching English effectively is base on teacher’s understanding about student that will be helpful for teacher in constructing the plan of teaching. Does MIs theory mean anything to you?

2 thoughts on “Multiple Intelligences – (Vu Thi Thao k33 Spa)

  1. Hi Thao
    thanks for your writing. After reading your writing I have some comments for you. Firstly from your writing I realize that the children have a lot of intelligences, So being a teacher it is very important for me to know how my childen owe which intelligences, which plays an important in teaching my students.What are the reasons for this? In fact, if I know my students are good which intelligences I should encourage them to develop this intelligences.and according to the period of development of children I should have suitable strategies to teach my them.Another one is that I should have combine various methods during the process of teaching, I should not only use one method to teacher because there are a lot of children in the class and each person has different intelligences. If I only use a method I can’t help children to develop their ability. Your writing is good but I think you should analyse children’s brain and mutiple choice intelligence in more details. I think this suggestion is useful for you. Thank for your posting

  2. Hello Thao, I’m Lien. I have just read your post about multiple intelligences after passing it a long time. It makes me recall many things that will be very useful for me in teaching. I want to say that it’s very good point of you to give information with the quotation of its author. This helps your writings more persuasively.
    As you said that each of us has many kinds of intelligences. Therefore, if the teachers can indentify what field their students are good at, the success of studying will be improved. We can observe the students or have students take part in Mls test. However, I think just observing student to find out what they’re excellent at is not enough. Because as you know, each student has their own intelligence. Some are obvious but some are hidden. It’s the reason why I strongly recommend that teachers should have their students join in a variety of activities so that they can discover what they are good at. Then, there should be a combination between the multiple intelligences so that students can have a complete development.
    That’s just dome of my points that I want to add to your writing to make it more details. Once again, Thank you very much for your meaningful sharing !

Leave a Reply

