Storytelling

After an experience…

Why we need to tell stories for kid and why it is a good way in teaching English. Telling story is not simple that teacher only reads and students listen.

I have ever told a story for my younger sisters by Vietnamese. I see that if I only tell story like speaking with them, they only interest in my story in a while. When I used gesture to illustrate, they seem to have more interesting. Especially, they were very interested when I used the real toy (bear, doll, table, chair, etc). I used toy and told the story by different voices and they are remember my story better than the first one.

After I learned from the unit in class, I realize that something I used to tell story is a part of what I learned. They are the performance techniques. In my video that I work with my friends, I combine performance techniques and storytelling techniques. My story have four characters, I used four bear toys and a doll. With each character, I try to use different voices but I feel that it is difficult because my voice seem to be similar when I role play fours characters in the story. I also use facial expressions to illustrate my characters. After finish telling, I wrote down some structures that appear in the story and ask my student to repeat them. Moreover, I give a game with these structures to help the students remember them.

I also realize that the kids will remember what is repeated many times. Therefore, the teacher should ask student to repeat or perform what they can do during tell story. In addition, the teacher should make the story become more vivid when using real objects, pictures or gesture of both the teacher and the students.

Another factor is that the teacher should give students opportunities to attend in the story by asking them to predict the story, the characters or the content. It will help them develop their ability of creation and guessing as well as is a way to get attention of the kids.

That are something I get from my experiment storytelling. I want to receive some suggestion of you to support my writing.

About MI XU

Falcuty of Foreign Languages

2 thoughts on “Storytelling

  1. thanks for your writing
    it’s good when you said about your experience first. beacuse when you experience by yourself you will know well. and others will beleive more about what you share
    i agree with you that you use different voices in each situation, use facial expressions to illustrate the characters, then write down some structures that appear in the story, and ask students to repeat them. specially, you give a game with these structures to help the students remember them. it’s creative and helpful.you also mention that teacher should let student attend the story. ít’s a good ideas, may be like a “role-play” game. it will help sudents remmember more and more
    how do you think about the idea that teacher hold a storiestelling contest for students. i think ít’s good chance to help students share experience, improve speaking and listening skills and study together.
    once again, thanks so much

  2. Hi, MI XU. Fisrt of all, thanks for your sharing. You showed your experiences when you told a story to your younger sister and you also pointed out what you learned after enjoying that classs. In my opinion, you should choose an example story and give the way to tell this story. In other words, you can give many ways to tell a story. For example in this part “Another factor is that the teacher should give students opportunities to attend in the story by asking them to predict the story, the characters or the content. It will help them develop their ability of creation and guessing as well as is a way to get attention of the kids.” you should explain more clearly about how to do it and what way to get it.
    That are my ideas in your writing.

Leave a Reply

